Skip to main content

Filing finished

News Letter Journal - Staff Photo - Create Article
Alexis Barker, NLJ News Editor

Candidates for primary election announced

Candidate filing for the 2024 primary election has officially closed and the major party candidates have been announced for local, state and federal elections.

With two seats open on the Board of Weston County Commissioners, voters will have the opportunity to choose between five candidates. Incumbents Ed Wagoner and Don Taylor are both seeking reelection, according to Weston County Clerk Becky Hadlock. They will face former commissioner Martha (Marty) Ertman, as well as Mike Harris and Henry Nessul for the spots on the general election ballot.

For Newcastle’s mayor, voters will choose between three candidates: incumbent Pam Gualteri, current councilman Tyrel Owens and former mayor Ed Kiesling, according to City Clerk-Treasurer Stacy Haggerty. Three City Council seats are open in the upcoming election, but only incumbents Tom Voss and Daren Downs have filed to run for reelection.

In Upton, two Town Council seats are open, and according to Clerk Kelley Millar, incumbents Justin Norman and Rick Rothleutner are the only two seeking those seats.

The most competitive races in the August primary may involve precinct committee positions in the Republican party. Weston County Republican Party Chair Kari Drost reported 18 total openings will be on the ballot. These include four in precinct 1-1, two in precinct 1-2, two in precinct 2-1, two in precinct 3-1, two in precinct 4-1, two in precinct 5-1, two in precinct 5-2 and two in precinct 5-3.

Mick Bohn, Ted Ertman and Allen Slagle are all vying for Precinct 1-1 committeemen, while Martha (Marty) Ertman and Ann Slagle are competing for Precinct 1-1 committeewoman. In Precinct 1-2, Karen Drost and Susan Love are running for committeewoman, while Bill Lambert and Thomas Wing are running for committeeman.

In Precinct 2-1, the committeeman candidate is Dan Fouch and Irma Fouch is running for committeewoman. For Precinct 3-1, committeeman candidates are Curtis Rankin and Brian Birkley and the committeewoman candidate is Loretta Moyers.

In Precinct 5-1, the only candidate is Teresa Gross for committeewoman. In Precinct 5-2, the sole candidates are John Butts  for committeeman and Sue Mireles for committeewoman.

Rounding out the committeeman and committeewoman candidates are James Burrough and Suzanne Burrough in Precinct 5-3.

Locally, voters will also cast their ballots on whether or not to retain Lynda Bush and Wendy M. Bartlett as circuit court judges for the 6th Judicial District and Matthew F.G. Castano and James Michael Causey as district court judges for the 6th Judicial District.

At the state level, Rep. Chip Neiman, R-Hulett, is running unopposed for House District 1. In House District 2, incumbent Rep. Allen Slagle, R-Newcastle, will face JD Williams of Lusk, a Republican and former representative, for the nomination.

For U.S. senator, incumbent Sen. John Barrasso of Casper will face John Holtz of Laramie and Reid Rasner of Mills, according to the Wyoming Secretary of State website. Democrat Scott D. Morrow of Laramie is the only candidate seeking his party’s nomination for the Senate seat.

For U.S. representative, incumbent Rep. Harriet Hageman of Cheyenne is facing Steven R. Helling of Casper. Democrat Kyle G. Cameron of Cheyenne is the only Democrat filing for his party’s nomination.

The primary election will be held Aug. 20, with the general election on Nov. 5.

--- Online Subscribers: Please click here to log in to read this story and access all content.

Not an Online Subscriber? Click here to subscribe.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates