Your 2022 election roster is complete

Alexis Barker, NLJ News Editor

The 2022 election season is shaping up to be an interesting one in Weston County, with several contested seats, high profile races and new candidates making their debut on the local political scene. 

Filings for various seats at the city, county and state level officially closed on May 27 in Wyoming, and several hopefuls threw their hats in the ring during the final week of the filing period. 

That said, several positions — including the Weston County assessor, Weston County District Court clerk, Weston County treasurer, Weston County attorney and Weston County coroner — only produced one candidate when the filing period ended. Incumbents Kara Lenardson (assessor), Tina Cote (district court clerk), Susie Overman (treasurer) and Michael Stulken (attorney) are all running to refill their respective seats for another four years. The only candidate running for coroner is newcomer Scott Beachler, as incumbent Cindy Crabtree did not file for re-election. 

Weston County Clerk Becky Hadlock is also seeking another term, as is Sheriff Bryan Colvard, but both will be running in contested races. 

Patricia Baumann had initially filed to run for Weston County Commission, but changed that last week to run instead for county clerk while Upton Police Chief Susan Bridge and Newcastle police officer Richard Hillhouse both joined the race last week to take on Colvard for the role of sheriff. 

One incumbent, Nathan Todd, is running to retain his seat on the Board of Weston County Commissioners, but there are three seats up for election. Challengers F. Henry Nessul, Michael C. Sears, Vera Huber, Ed Quinones, Justin Liggett, Garrett Borton and Shane Crawford have stepped forward to seek those spots. 

All county positions are partisan and all candidates are registered Republicans. No Democrats have filed to run for county office.

The Newcastle City Council will have four positions on the August ballot, one two-year seat and three four-year seats. Those positions are nonpartisan, and only two individuals, incumbents Don Steveson and Ann McColley have filed to run, leaving the door open for a slew of write-in candidates to emerge

Current Weston County Commission chairwoman, Marty Ertman, will not seek reelection to the commission, and instead filed to run for the Senate District 3 seat in the Wyoming State Legislature. She will face incumbent Cheri Steinmetz, R-Lingle. 

Weston County’s other senator, representing Senate District 1, Ogden Driskill, R-Devils Tower, will face a pair of challengers in Bill Fortner of Gillette and Roger Connet of Sundance.

Chip Neiman, R-Hulett, is running unopposed for the seat he currently holds in House District 1, while Allen Slagle of Newcastle will run against incumbent J.D. Williams, R-Lusk, who was recently appointed to the House District 2 seat long held by Hans Hunt. 

Wyoming voters will also be voting for governor, secretary of state, treasurer, auditor and the superintendent of public instruction this year, but Wyoming’s highest profile race pits current Congresswoman Liz Cheney against lawyer Harriet Hageman, a former gubernatorial candidate. Several others are running for the Republican nomination in the general election — including Anthony Bouchard of Cheyenne, Denton Knapp of Gillette and
Robyn M. Belinskey of Sheridan — but Hageman is a candidate favored by former President Donald Trump. 

Vying for the Democratic nomination for Wyoming lone seat in the U.S. House of Representatives are Lynnette Grey Bull of Fort Washakie, Meghan R. Jensen of Rock Springs and Steve Helling of Casper. 

Gov. Mark Gordon, who is seeking reelection, has three challengers in the Republican primary,  Brett Bien of Sheridan, James Quick of Douglas,  and Rex Rammell of Rock Springs. Running for the Democratic nomination are Rex Wilde of Cheyenne and Theresa A. Livingston of Worland. 

For secretary of state, voters will choose between Casper’s Chuck Gray, Centennial’s Mark Armstrong, Cheyenne’s Tara Nethercott  and Afton’s Dan Dockstader, all of whom are registered Republicans.

Wyoming State Auditor Kristi Racines is seeking reelection and running unopposed, while State Treasurer Curt Meier has competition in his re-election bid for the Republican nomination in Cheyenne’s Bill Gallop. 

For superintendent of public instruction, recently appointed  Brian Schroeder is seeking reelection, and will square off against Laramie’s Megan Degenfelder, Casper’s Jennifer Zerba, Rock Spring’s Robert J. White III and Sheridan’s Thomas Kelly. All of them are seeking the Republican nomination for the seat, as only one person has filed for the Democratic nomination, Sergio A. Maldonado Sr. of Lander. 

The 2022 primary election is on Aug. 16, and the general election will be held on Nov. 8.

News Letter Journal

News Letter Journal
14 W. Main St.
P.O. Box 40
Newcastle, WY 82701
Ph: (307) 746-2777
Fax: (307) 746-2660

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content