Still time to file

Alexis Barker, NLJ News Editor

Anyone interested in running for office during the 2022 election season has another five days to file with the Weston County clerk, Wyoming secretary of state or at Newcastle City Hall. The filing deadline for the primary election is May 27. 

The 2022 primary election is on Aug. 16 and the general election will be held on Nov. 8. 

As of May 20, incumbents running for reelection are County Clerk Becky Hadlock, County Assessor Kara Lendardson, County Treasurer Susan Overman, Clerk of District Court Tina Cote and County Attorney and Prosecuting Attorney Michael Stulken. All are unchallenged so far. 

Weston County Sheriff Bryan Colvard has thrown his name back into the ring to continue his role, but he has competition from Upton Police Chief Susan Bridge, who also wants to be sheriff. 

Running for coroner is Scott Beachler. As of May 20, incumbent Cynthia Crabtree had not tossed her name in the ring, according to filing documents provided by Hadlock. 

In addition to these county positions, three seats on the Weston County Commission are up for grabs. Six people have already filed to run. Filing documents show that Henry Nessul, Michael Chad Sears, Vera Huber, Ed Quinones and Patricia Baumann will all face off against incumbent Nathan Todd for the available seats. 

Anyone interested in filing for any of the open county positions should see Hadlock in the Weston County clerk’s office at the courthouse. All county positions are partisan and all candidates to date are registered Republicans, as no Democrats have signed up to run for county office at this point

Newcastle City Council has four four-year seats up for grabs and only incumbent Don Steveson has filed for reelection. Any interested parties should see Newcastle Clerk-Treasurer Stacy Haggerty at City Hall. 

All four Weston County state legislative seats are up for election. Those wishing to run for these seats must live within the boundaries of Senate Districts 1 or 3 or House Districts 1 or 2, as recently drawn during the Wyoming State Legislature’s redistricting process. 

To date, according to the preliminary election candidate roster on the Wyoming Secretary of State website, all four of Weston County’s incumbents are seeking reelection. Ogden Driskill, R-Devils Tower, will face multiple challengers for the Senate District 1 seat, with both Bill Fortner of Gillette and Roger Connet of Sundance also vying for the seat. Current Senate District 3 senator, Cheri Steinmetz, R-Lingle, will run unopposed unless another candidate files before May 27. 

Chip Neiman, R-Hulett, is so far running unopposed for the lone seat in House District 1, while Allen Slagle of Newcastle will run against incumbent J.D. Williams, R-Lusk, for the House District 2 seat. 

Wyoming voters will also be voting for governor, secretary of state, treasurer, auditor and the superintendent of public instruction this year. Wyoming’s lone seat in the U.S. House of Representatives is also up for grabs during this election cycle, but according to the Secretary of State’s website, Anthony Bouchard of Cheyenne is the only individual who has filed to run for the United States Representative seat. 

Current Congresswoman Liz Cheney has announced that she will seek re-election, and former Republican gubernatorial candidate Harriet Hageman has announced she will challenge Cheney but according to the Wyoming Secretary of State’s website, neither had filed for the office as of Monday morning.

Gov. Mark Gordon, who is seeking reelection, has three challengers in the Republican primary: Brett Bien, Sheridan; James Quick, Douglas; and Rex Rammell, Rock Springs. 

For secretary of state, voters will choose between at least two in the primary election, both Casper’s Chuck Gray and Afton’s Dan Dockstader have filed to run for this seat. 

Wyoming State Auditor Kristi Racines is seeking reelection and so far has no competition for the nomination. State Treasurer Curt Meier is also seeking reelection, but has competition for the Republican nomination in Cheyenne’s Bill Gallop. 

For superintendent of public instruction, incumbent Brian Schroeder is seeking reelection. Laramie’s Megan Degenfelder and Sheridan’s Thomas Kelly are also seeking the Republican nomination for the seat. So far, only one person has filed for the Democratic nomination, Sergio A. Maldonado Sr. of Lander. 

Anyone wishing to file for any of the state seats can access the proper documents by visiting the Wyoming secretary of state’s website. 

“Wyoming law stipulates that parties conduct open primaries for congressional and state-level offices. While a voter must be affiliated with a political party in order to participate in its primary election, any voter, regardless of previous partisan affiliation, may change his or her affiliation on the day of the primary,” says about Wyoming’s primary elections. “Winners in Wyoming primary elections are determined via plurality vote, meaning that the candidate with the highest number of votes wins even if he or she did not win an outright majority of votes cast.”

Those interested in running for any of the open seats have until May 27 to complete and submit the required documents. 


News Letter Journal

News Letter Journal
14 W. Main St.
P.O. Box 40
Newcastle, WY 82701
Ph: (307) 746-2777
Fax: (307) 746-2660

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content